A second reassignment this week of COVID-19 restriction tiers — triggered by a vaccination threshold — allowed 13 California counties to move from purple to red.

Friday’s announcement said the counties moving out of the most restrictive tier are: Contra Costa, Sonoma, San Benito, Mendocino, Siskiyou, Colusa, Placer, Amador, Tuolumne, Mono, Los Angeles, Orange and San Bernardino.

The looser restrictions for those counties will take effect Sunday, March 14.

Because the state reached a benchmark of vaccinating 2 million people in underserved communities, the threshold to move into the red tier was relaxed to a case rate of 10 per 100,000 people, rather than 7 per 100,000.

The reclassification of Contra Costa and Sonoma means all Bay Area counties have moved into the red tier (“substantial” COVID risk).  On Tuesday, nine counties improved their status, including the moving of Alameda, Solano and Santa Cruz into the red tier.

It was Los Angeles’ first move out of purple since the color-coded system was introduced in August.

Thirty-three counties, accounting for 65% of California’s population, are now in red, and 21 in purple (“widespread” risk). Plumas, Sierra and Mariposa are orange (“moderate” risk), and Alpine is yellow (“minimal”).

Click here for the state’s official COVID website, including details of what activities are allowed in the various tiers.

Source link